We Leave What We Live!

Someday I won’t be able to pass on a generational legacy to my kids, today is NOT that day!

It had been a very long day and we were looking forward to getting home to hit the hay when we found ourselves driving past Portland Meadows.  I’ve never had much of a stomach for gambling, but my kids always got a major kick out of betting on the horses with my grandparents so I decided our beds would have to wait.  Today would have been my Grampa’s 96th birthday after all and this was one of their many legacies that I’d like to keep alive.  My Grama, aka “the bank”, was the sensible one and my Gramps was definitely the risk taker; both sides offer many valuable life lessons.  “Legacy is not leaving something for people, it’s leaving something in people.”- Peter Strople  My grandparents gave me a few material items that I will forever cherish, but it is the unconditional love they so freely gave and the way they lived their lives that so greatly shaped my life, impacted my kids’ lives and will continue to touch the lives of generations to come.

Today was a big $ kind of day!

blog 4

 

 

Leave a Reply

