The Pot Calling the Kettle Black!

Someday I won’t be able to embarrass my high school aged kids, today is NOT that day!

My 15 year old daughter has been instructing me for days on what is and is not allowed during the photo shoot of her track team.  Whenever my kids told me not to do something in the past, I’d do whatever it was even bigger.  They’ve all become so gracious with me however that I do my best to respect their now rare requests.  I proudly made it through the shoot without incident.  I had a bit of time to kill before my daughter would be ready to go home and since running the stairs during their practice is on the “not allowed” list, I decided to go for an off campus run.  When I finished my run I saw a few kids doing the javelin while everyone else seemed distracted with their warm ups on the track; looked like the perfect opportunity to check throwing a javelin off my bucket list to me!  It’s much harder than it looks and I didn’t love it, but I am glad to have tried it.  Even though throwing a javelin wasn’t on her “not allowed” list and the remarks that she received from several kids afterward were complimentary (apparently I wasn’t as inconspicuous as I had thought), my daughter was not amused and I was banned to my car for a bit.  I think Rick Riordan was channeling my daughter when he said, “Have you ever notice how parents can go from the most wonderful people in the world to totally embarrassing in three seconds?”.   On the drive home she informed me that I’m a lot of work.  Pretty sure that’s what they refer to as the pot calling the kettle black little miss high maintenance Jr.!  We were both laughing before we arrived home.

Today was seized opportunity!

blog5.jpg

Leave a Reply

