Houston we Have a Problem!

Someday I won’t be able to be a hard worker, today is NOT that day!

I had my work area cleaned up and organized and was ready to tackle my first tile job.  Everything was hunky dory until I had to dig into the bucket of mortar and then it was all “Houston we have a problem!”.  (My husband’s name is Tom not Houston and I didn’t even know he was in the house, but thankfully he came when I yelled that and helped me out of my mortar disaster so I could continue).  I’m quite certain God was feeling feisty and had a good gut laugh after he decided to mix anal perfectionism with messy disaster to my ingredients.  These conflicting traits of mine increase the job difficulty factor by at least 50% I bet.  Nonetheless, when I have a job to do I put my nose to the grindstone and lose all sense of pain, time, hunger and usually or rather unfortunately common sense 😛  I get in so deep that whether it’s safe or practical I will find a way around any obstacle in my way.  One of my favorite quotes comes from Babe Ruth, “It’s hard to beat a person who never gives up”.  It’s usually a circumstance rather than an opponent in my case, but when something is important to me I will not give up until I beat it.  That provides a feeling of exhilaration that overpowers my sore knees and muscles every single day.

Today was a messy victory!

blog2

Leave a Reply

