Happy Birthday to Me!

Someday I won’t be able to spend my 49th birthday hiking, today is NOT that day!

I seriously cannot believe that today marks the first day of my 50th year of life!  Other than playing in the ocean somewhere sunny, I couldn’t think of a better way to spend the day than hiking in the beautiful gorge with my kids.  There were a couple buzz kill moments when our dog traumatized herself by falling down a short cliff and when Riley traumatized us by almost falling off the edge of triple falls; all’s well that ends well though and it was an absolute perfect way to spend the day!  My birthday reminds me why I began this journey.  I used to enjoy such activities, but took for granted that fact that I was able to do them.  I receive so much more joy from these activities now that I’m mindful of the fact that someday I won’t be as physically able and I take the time delight in all that I can do today.  “Enjoy life today because yesterday is gone and tomorrow may never come” Alan Coren.

Today was a Happy Birthday!

1ablog

 

Leave a Reply

