Fourth at the Fort!

Someday I won’t be able to celebrate the fourth of July at the Fort, today is NOT that day!

27 years ago we began the tradition of celebrating the fourth of July at the Fort with our friends.  Through the years as we’ve celebrated this holiday we’ve watched each other “grow up” and become adults, we got married and had children whom we introduced to this treasured tradition, we said goodbye to a beloved friend and we are now watching our own children become adults themselves.  Competing in the organized field day games, admiring the hand crafted offerings for sale in the booths, gorging ourselves on the delicious junk foods, indulging in people watching, playing football and frisbee, dancing our hearts out to the rockin bands and ohhhing and awwwing over the magnificent display of fireworks never gets old.  With a few extra stresses on my plate lately I struggled to remain present and mindful of enjoying our time together this year, but sometimes just showing up is a victory.  In the end it lifted my spirits as it always has and I’m grateful to  have another year of memories to fill me up.

“If tomorrow all the things were gone
I’d worked for all my life
And I had to start again
With just my children and my wife

I’d thank my lucky stars
To be livin’ here today
Cause the flag still stands for freedom
And they cant take that away

And I’m proud to be an American
Where at least I know I’m free
And I won’t forget the men who died
Who gave that right to me

And I gladly stand up
Next to you and defend her still today
Cause there ain’t no doubt, I love this land
God bless the USA

From the lakes of Minnesota
To the hills of Tennessee
Across the plains of Texas
From sea to shining sea

From Detroit down to Houston
And New York to L.A.
Well, there’s pride in every American heart
And it’s time we stand and say

That I’m proud to be an American
Where at least I know I’m free
And I won’t forget the men who died
Who gave that right to me

And I gladly stand up
Next to you and defend her still today
Cause there ain’t no doubt, I love this land
God bless the USA.

And I’m proud to be and American
Where at least I know I’m free
And I won’t forget the men who died
Who gave that right to me

And I gladly stand up
Next to you and defend her still today
Cause there ain’t no doubt, I love this land
God bless the USA” Lee Greenwood

Today was explosive!

blog136.JPG

Leave a Reply

