Bring on the Adventure!

Someday I won’t be able to say “Yes!” to a great adventure, today is NOT that day!

I hadn’t exercised yet today so decided to ride my bike to my daughter’s game at Delta Park.  This in itself was already an adventure given the fact that I’m scared of heights, somewhat claustrophobic and have an aversion to being attacked and the ride includes biking near the edge of the (extremely) high I-5 bridge in a squishy bike lane and going through a dark tunnel that tends to house questionable characters.  I had not anticipated rain so wasn’t dressed accordingly when it started to dump on me a mile into my ride.  Knowing that I was going to have to sit through an hour and a half long game I contemplated turning around, but then decided to soak in this adventure and the rain that came with it!  On top of the 3 miles worth of rain I was also being blasted from water shooting up from my front and rear tires and found myself laughing out loud at the craziness and of it all.  I had to remind myself several times to keep breathing when my fear on the bridge had me in a panic, but I felt so alive once I finally made it across.  As General George Patton put it, “Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory.”  Today I’m grateful that I’m able to say “yes” to fun adventures that push me out of my comfort zones.

Today was exhilarating!

blog133.jpg

Leave a Reply

