Barbershoppin!

Someday I won’t be able to cut my kid’s hair, today is NOT that day!

I had just been at Costco and Winco shopping for enough food to feed 160 kids for their high school graduation party so was physically pretty wiped and I’m also emotionally kind of drained because today was my baby boy’s last day of school.  Right when I walked in the door Riley asked me if I would cut his hair.  For a second I thought ugh I don’t want to do that now… and then I realized that was exactly what I wanted to do!  All 4 of my kids have always had their hair cut exclusively by me until about a year or so ago when the boys started going to a barber shop.  I was surprised to find that I actually enjoyed not having to cut their hair anymore and it was nice for them to have the process take a mere 20 minutes instead of the hour it takes when I do it. 😛  Today though getting to cut my boys hair was a welcome treat that filled my heart with enough joy to get me through this emotionally charged graduation process.  “You will never have this day with your children again, tomorrow they will be a little bit older than they are today.  Today is a gift, breathe and notice, smell and hold them, study their faces and little feet and pay attention.  Enjoy today, it will be over before you know it.  Relish the charms of the present”  Since the day I found out I was pregnant, I’ve been all too aware of these words by Jen Hatmaker.  Alas, being aware and mindful won’t slow time, it will however make the journey more meaningful and the memories more rich.  In cutting Riley’s hair today, I found a charm to relish.

Today was but a snip of time!

blog129.jpg

Leave a Reply

