My Baby Boy!

Someday I won’t be able to call my son a child, but today is NOT that day!

But tomorrow will be because that is when my baby boy turns 18!  He may officially be an adult tomorrow, but he will forever remain my baby boy.  Riley is one of the sweetest boys I have ever and will ever know.  Since the moment we nearly lost him during his birth I have been grateful for every second of this boy’s beautiful life.  When he was just a week or so old I was holding him tight in my arms when the song “when you say nothing at all” came on the radio and it instantly became “our song”.  I didn’t realize it at the time, but this song was not only a perfect description of how our relationship was at the time, but how it has and will forever remain.  I have 3 kids that are non-stop talkers and then I have Riley who is a man of few words.  Riley and I are different in many ways and this has proven to be one of my greatest challenges and blessings in life.  His strengths are my weaknesses.  He may not communicate with me the same way as his siblings, but he relays the same feeling of love in 3 words as his siblings relay in 300. 😉 ❤

It’s amazing how you can speak right to my heart
Without saying a word you can light up the dark
Try as I may I could never explain
What I hear when you don’t say a thing

The smile on your face lets me know that you need me
There’s a truth in your eyes sayin’ you’ll never leave me
The touch of your hand says you’ll catch me if ever I fall
You say it best when you say nothing at all

All day long I can hear people talking out loud
But when you hold me near, you drown out the crowd
Old Mr. Webster could never define
What’s being said between your heart and mine

The smile on your face lets me know that you need me
There’s a truth in your eyes sayin’ you’ll never leave me
The touch of your hand says you’ll catch me if ever I fall
You say it best when you say nothing at all

blog117

One thought on “My Baby Boy!

  1. Danni Morse Hall That made me cry.
    Diane Granville Morse Oh I can’t believe he is turning18. That was beautiful! Love you both.
    Kiersten Palmersheim That baby pic of him is too much, Those cheeks!!!! Happy Birthday Riley!
    Lisa Yi Franz Happy birthday, Riley!!
    Gail Shipley Awwww that was the sweetest Kristie Benson.. Happy Birthday Riley!!! Welcome to adulthood!
    Darrellyn Johnson Kelso Happy Happy Birthday, Riley!
    Jeff Pinkston That’s touching for he is a fine young man. Happy Birthday Riley!
    Kristina Pinkston Happy birthday Riley! Love you😊
    Stephanie Gawley Happy Happy Birthday Riley! smile emoticon
    Ruth Beckett Castro So sweet Christie.
    Laura King He’s so handsome! I can see both of his parents in his smile. 🙂
    Barbara Melroy Oh, so cute!!
    Barbara Melroy Happy Birthday Riley! You boys all great up too fast!
    Natalie Burke Happy birthday to Riley!!
    Kerri Overcast Stockman So handsome!!! Happy Birthday Riley!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

