A Double Feature Day!

Someday I won’t be able to throw a discus for the first time, today is NOT that day!

It wasn’t until my youngest started throwing the discus in track that I remembered I’ve always wanted to give it a try myself.  I borrowed one from the school and we went out for some extra practice.  My uninhibited enthusiasm was a bit much for my daughter, but it was every bit as fun as I’ve always thought it’d be and I just couldn’t help myself.  Before starting this journey I had been living pretty stagnant for a while, I can’t imagine now how that was possible when there are so many “firsts” just waiting for me to give them a try!  After the discus we went on a fantastic adventure together.  This thought by Neale Walsch popped into my head several times during our adventure, “life begins at the end of your comfort zone”.  I didn’t realize that I needed shoes for this adventure and it started with me cutting my leg and wrecking my arthritic wrist by falling and sliding down a mud hill.  I’m terrified of heights and was pushed so far out of my comfort zone that I entered my full on freak out zone when we had to leap over what I considered to be death defying cliffs and waterfalls.  With the support of my 12 year old partners though, I prevailed.  I wasn’t exactly thrilled about the nasty murky water that we trudged through either.  By the time we found our way to the swimming hole the sun was shining brightly.  We didn’t have our suits or towels and it’s April so the water was chilly to say the least, but YOLO so swimming it was!  You are so right Neale, life is exhilarating, rewarding and so fun at the end of your comfort zone.  I’m so grateful for the blessing of having two awesome experiences in one day.

Today was a double feature of fun!

blog114.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

