Monster Sand Hill!

Someday I won’t be able to get up and down this monster sand hill, today is NOT that day!

Not long after I turned 45 I had to pause for the first time in my life to ponder whether or not my body could handle jumping down a steep sand dune; it was as though my body felt like it was perhaps brittle.  While it didn’t stop me from doing it, having those thoughts certainly came as an unpleasant surprise.  Essentially realizing that someday I won’t be able to do all the things that I am able to do today started with jumping down sand hills.  I am happy to say that because of this realization I push myself to do more at 48 than I used to during my younger years.  One of our favorite spots is at the top of this monster sand hill at Nehalem Bay.  Apparently there was some erosion to the hill and it was even more steep than usual today and my heart was beating so hard by the time I reached the top that I thought I might pass out; so I did it again just to prove to myself that I could.  Another awesome spring break day spent boogie boarding, playing in the sand and running down hills with some of my favorite people!  I’ve heard it said that heaven seems a little closer at the beach, I wholeheartedly agree.  My soul is always instantly refreshed when I am at the beach, my spirit soars with joy and it is where I feel closest to God.  Today was joyful!

blog91

 

One thought on “Monster Sand Hill!

  1. Chris Frink Kristie Benson you’re awesome and amazing. Where I want to sit on the couch and nap, you’re going for it!
    Krista McCracken Scott You are adorable 😘
    Amy Shaw Surface This joy is awesome!! 🌟🌟

    Like

Leave a Reply

