Just for the Challenge of It!

Someday I won’t be able to touch my toes, today is NOT that day!

I have never been flexible and loathe stretching; I’m talking muttering expletives every time I do it type loathing.  However I love my nightly before bed baths, so to get myself to stretch I tell myself that I can only take a bath if I stretch before I get in.  Plus I have a condition called Orthostatic Hypotension which means that when I go from a stooped to a standing position I usually totally black out and sometimes faint, so this way I can just fall right into the tub 😉  I’m not sure why I decided that it was important to be able to touch my toes, maybe it was just that one day I realized that I couldn’t so it became challenge.  I’ve been noticing lately though that not only am I dizzy upon standing, I also have a hard time balancing when I’m bent over.  It’s making me wonder if with age I’m going to lose some of the little coordination that I currently posses?  I love my routines and being challenged so I can’t imagine I’ll ever stop trying to touch my toes on my own accord, however I wouldn’t be surprised if my kids forced the issue if I start falling too often.  Even though I don’t think that’ll be anytime soon, just the change in my balance that has provoked these thoughts has made me not enjoy but feel grateful for the fact that today I can touch my toes.  “Your body can do anything, it’s just your mind that you have to convince.” Author Unknown  I love this quote!  Pushing your body past where your mind said it could go is the best feeling ever!  While touching my toes is certainly not grueling, it’s a body over mind battle that I win every night.  Today was a victory!

blog82.jpg

 

 

One thought on “Just for the Challenge of It!

Leave a Reply

