Finding our Zen!

Someday I won’t be able to hold a spontaneous meditating sesh with my girls, today is NOT that day!

While we were playing kickball in the racquetball room at the club my daughter Annie starting singing; the echo in the room made the notes she was singing sound angelic.  It was so amazing that Josie and I had to join in and together we sang for a good 20 minutes.  Using deep breaths to extend the notes and singing them over and over really put me in a peaceful meditative state.  I’ve always tried to meditate in a quiet room only to end up exhausted from trying to wrestle my ADD thoughts into submission.  It is extremely loud in that room which must be enough to grab and hold the attention of my thoughts and this allowed me to focus solely on harmonizing with my echoes.  I’ve always heard people say that positive thoughts beget positive actions and through this journey I am realizing this truth in my life.  Walking into the club we noticed the moon was shining in a rare and magnificent way, then we made up and played some really fun new kickball games and we topped off the outing by finding our Zen.  Yet another night of bonding with my girls that I would’ve missed out on if it weren’t for this journey that I am ever so grateful for.  Today was a discovery!

“Watch your thoughts, they become words.
Watch your words, they become actions.
Watch your actions, they become habits.
Watch your habits, they become your character.
Watch your character, it becomes your destiny.”

blog64

Unfortunately this pic doesn’t do tonight’s moon the least bit of justice.

One thought on “Finding our Zen!

  1. Kerri Overcast Stockman Abbie and I would love to join you doing the singing…. teehee!!!!

    Mary Ramsey Miller Having daughters must be an amazing blessing!! My boys are too, but girls are different than boys for sure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

